25
Jul
08

A view on macs

You know, I’ve always been a PC/Windows kinda guy. I loved being able to get into the guts of the operating system and hardware to try to figure things out. On top of that, being a gamer, PC was the only computer to have to really play the latest and greatest. The thing I might have hated the most about Mac was the damn one button mouse…I really hated that damn thing. Don’t even get me started on the hockey puck mouse either!

So I’ve never been a Mac fan. Seven and a half years of working in the game industry has only served to strengthen my loyalty to the PC and the Windows operating system. For a long time though, I’ve had people telling me about how much they love their Mac.

So a few days ago a game designer buddy of mine and I were talking about how shows like Star Trek tend to drive people’s imagination about how we pursue technologies. We got to talking about all the different technologies on the show and their real world equivalents being developed today. I was surprised when he mentioned Macs and how closely they resemble the functionality of the computers on the show.

This got me thinking, and now I have to agree. The thing that made the computers on the show seem so amazing and futuristic wasn’t their complexity, it was the simplicity with which they could be used. You never saw Worf or Spock installing drivers, dealing with a blue screen of death, or have the computer tell them that it couldn’t raise shields cause it needs to install a critical update.

Their computers were stable, always ready to use, and demonstrated the same user friendliness that Macs do today. So while I can’t say I’m a convert, I can say that I got a new found respect for what Mac is doing. Besides, all prejudices aside, Apple is one hell of a technology development company. The iPhone, itunes, iPod, and various computer platforms suggests Steve Jobs has an idea of what he’s doing. Who knows, maybe that new tablet from Mac will be the first one for me.

Leave a Reply

